Sautéed Zucchini with Almonds, Parmesan and Bulgur

Zucchini Bulgur Saute

With this year’s CSA Project starting in a few days, I figured this year it was worth preparing a bit more than I did last summer.  Zucchini tends to be prolific by August, and I have something like two standard recipes that I go to (whoopie pies being one of them).   I wanted to have a few more in my arsenal so that I wouldn’t become overwhelmed later this summer by a crisper full of summer squash.

In perusing Saveur for some inspiration, I came across a quick sauté with almonds and pecorino that apparently was the signature dish of one Red Cat Café.  I had no clue what this New York restaurant was about, but the recipe sounded interesting.  Quick, relatively easy, and tasty = win.

The first time I tried it, I made it in the small batch suggested, and it was good, but I’m a bit lazy (I never actually bothered julienning as the recipe suggested.  That’s why I own a food processor), and wanted to turn this into more of a one-pot dish.

So, I quadrupled the zucchini and almonds (I think – the tablespoon to ounce conversion has always stumped me), used parmesan instead of pecorino (as if that’s something readily available in South Lake Tahoe!) and added 2 cups of cooked bulgur wheat.

Not bad, though next time I’ll make a lemon vinaigrette, which I think will finish it off nicely.

Sautéed Zucchini with Almonds, Parmesan and Bulgur
(Adapted from the Red Cat Café Cookbook)
Serves 2-4

1 cup bulgur
1-2 tbsp olive oil
½ cup blanched, sliced almonds
1 pound young zucchini or summer squash, either shredded, run through a food processor with a grater fitting or julienned
Salt & pepper
½ -3/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated using the largest hole in a box grater
Zest of one lemon

Place bulgur in a heatproof bowl.  Add 2 ½ cups of boiling water, cover and let sit for 30 minutes.  Drain excess water and fluff.

Heat oil in large pan, when hot add almonds and toast until just barely golden, around a minute.  Add half the zucchini, cook for 30 seconds, season and cook for another 30 seconds (until just barely cooked).  Remove almond zucchini mixture and add remaining zucchini. Cook for thirty seconds, season and cook for another thirty seconds.

Toss zucchini and almonds with bulgur, top with Parmesan and lemon zest.

Leave a Reply

