Memorial Weekend Powder Skiing

While snow isn’t unusual at this time of year, the 8-12 inches of new snow reported at Squaw Valley and Kirkwood was.  So N and I figured a quick reconnaissance lap was necessary to confirm or deny the historic snowfall.

The skin track up was interesting, as the snow hadn’t bonded well with the surface, so focus and skin technique were required.  Neither of which are my strengths.

Earning my May powder turns

It wasn’t as deep as the snow K and I encountered the other week, but it was still deep enough for me to be knee deep in snow when I tele turned.  On May 29th no less!

Leave a Reply

