Kale Improv

With the abundance of kale in my CSA box the past few weeks, I was looking to try something beyond the sautee-it-and-toss-it-in-some-pasta routine last week.  Seeing how I had made some basil pesto a few days before, and had a pizza crust in my fridge, I thought it was high time to try kale on a pizza.  Topped with grated parmesan, it turned out flavorful without being too greasy.  Which totally helped me justify finishing off that last slice.


Kale Pizza (serves 4 , or 2 really hungry people)

1 premade pizza crust (I used Alvarado Street Bakery’s version of Boboli)
4-5 tablespoons pesto
1 bunch kale, washed, de-stemmed, chopped into bite size pieces
1 tsp olive oil
½ – 1 cup fresh parmesan cheese, grated (I used closer to 1 cup, but I like a cheesy pizza)

In a medium pan, heat oil on medium heat, then add chopped kale, cooking on medium low for 5 minutes, until wilted.  Set aside.

Top pizza crust with pesto, leaving a ½ inch around the edge.  Top with kale, then with the parmesan.  Cook according to crust directions (usually 450F for 5-10 minutes) until cheese is melted.  Let cool a few minutes before slicing.

Leave a Reply

