May Powder Snow

May 10th snowstorm

It snowed again yesterday.  Just a few inches at the house, but it was enough to encourage me to make lemonade out of lemons.  So last night I packed up my backcountry gear and headed out this morning at dark o’thirty to make some turns before work.  In my haste I forgot my camera, so no photographic evidence is available.

With no other cars at the trailhead (I guess the die-hard powder skiers are over it now?) I was on my own breaking trail, marveling at the cold boot-top snow I was seeing on May 11!  The winds had hammered anything not sheltered, so I chose to descend in the shelter of the trees.   Surprisingly winter-like snow on a firm base meant that it might not have ranked as one of the most epic powder days I’ve had this season, but it was epic for May.

I keep telling myself that this will be the last powder day of the season.  Given that it’s supposed to be 66 degrees & sunny by the weekend, I’m pretty sure that this really *was* my last powder day of the 2009/10 season.  After 7 months of skiing, I’m gonna be gracious & accept that.

Leave a Reply

