Chocolate Caramel Tart

I have been eyeing this recipe in Clotilde Dusoulier’s Chocolate & Zucchini cookbook for the past year, but a decided lack of creme fraiche (a key ingredient, one that I had no desire to make on my own) and trepidation about making the pate sable discouraged me from attempting it.

So when I finally located creme fraiche at the local Grocery Outlet, it became clear that I had to step it up and stop with the excuses. Luckily I had some friends ready to serve as willing and able guinea pigs, and after a full day of skiing powder, both Nils and I had ample appetite for a sinfully rich dessert.

The pastry part was probably the easiest part of the process, as it can be made in a food processor and requires no rolling (a similar recipe for said crust can be found here).  Having made chocolate ganache before, it was less daunting than the caramel layer, which involved a host of ingredients, including brown sugar, honey, creme fraiche and butter.  (Did I mention that this was NOT a low-calorie dessert?)

Overall, the three step process (crust, caramel layer and chocolate) were not difficult – just time consuming.   I didn’t plan far enough in advance and ended up making this mere hours before it was needed, so it didn’t set quite as well as it should have.

But it still tasted divine.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Caramel Tart

  1. Hi there — I’ve been lurking for a while, I enjoy reading about all your outdoor adventures — but I never guessed we would have Clotilde Dusoulier’s cookbook in common! I’ve been a fan of her blog for a long time, and follow her restaurant recommendations like scripture when I’m in Paris (which is not a lot). Thanks for the review of her recipe, I may have to give it a shot!

    Cheers,
    Shelley

    • Too funny – I’ve been reading her blog for ages now, and while I don’t get to Paris that often, I do love her recipes – and explanations of french idioms. If you have the cookbook, that and the yogurt cake recipe are keepers.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

