Old Fashioned Pleasures

The other day I received something I’d not seen in years – a genuine handwritten letter. It was very novel in the world of immediacy. That this one came out of the blue from a long-lost friend living overseas made it all the more unexpected and appreciated.  And oddly genteel, though I’m pretty sure she didn’t use a feathered plume to write it.

Having become so accustomed to immediate news and updates from friends and family, whether through email, Facebook or the many other online tools, I realized that there is something to be said for traditional forms of communication.  It’s so much more tangible, for starters, and she even included some photos – real printed photos that I can frame or post on my fridge.
I’m so excited about rediscovering the lost art of letter writing that I am writing my friend back with a pen and paper.  Heck at this rate I might even return to my journals – the ones I used to write in before I began this blog.

Leave a Reply

