My First Jam

So I did get to play at Saturday’s roller derby bout.  Not for long, but long enough to really like the adrenaline, and appreciate all the practicing I’ve done up until this point.  Lucy Crabapple was indeed, in the house (rather, on the track) for a brief moment in time.

I know my mother isn’t that thrilled that I’ve gotten into derby.  On the surface it may appear violent, but when you learn how to fall – forward, on your pads – it’s not as bad as it looks. I was relieved to see that all the time learning falling, skating and hitting techniques paid off during the blur of time I was out.  I know I fell a few times, and *think* I hit a few times, though it went so fast I couldn’t take vows on it.

In any case, the bug is there.  While it’ll never trump my love of skiing, it’s definitely a group activity I’m going to continue with, unlike, say, outrigger canoe.

Leave a Reply

