Living in a Doggie World

Lake Tahoe is very much a place akin to dog heaven.  Dog owners seem to outnumber the non-dog owners, and whether in pickup trucks or old subarus, dogs tend to accompany their humans everywhere – to work, to play, traveling, etc.  They have their run of anywhere non-paved, including local trails (snow-covered and not), the enormous swimming pool known as Lake Tahoe, and because of this, I think they tend to be mellower and better behaved than their urban cousins who live their lives leashed, tethered and not allowed to run free from time to time.

I was reminded of Tahoe’s unique pro-dog attitude twice today.  First when I stopped off at Alpen Sierra to grab a quick coffee, and happened to park next to a space occupied by a gorgeous, if graying, St. Bernard, who had pretty much taken up a parking space for himself (his human had tied him to a nearby newspaper kiosk).  Said St. Bernard was unflappable and completely at ease in his state of semi-consciousness as folks like me passed by and smiled.  Because who wouldn’t smile seeing such a gorgeous animal?  He was unperturbed by us admirers, and certainly wasn’t giving up his primo parking spot for anyone, including the driver of the large SUV that started pulling in – then changed her mind.

Then this evening I opened up the local free monthly newspaper (which has no editorial merits of its own, but features interesting ads from various businesses who won’t advertise in our formerly daily paper).   In it was a 1/3 page ad dedicated to a man’s dog who died in 1984 – 25 years ago.  While it was poorly written (not unusual here), it was obviously heartfelt, and I was strangely touched.  This guy hadn’t had a dog since this one died, and apparently the cat just wasn’t the same.

While I consider myself a dog lover, and very much understand the attitudes of most dog owners here (except for the stupid & irresponsible, but I’ve vented about that already), this was something I’m pretty sure I’ll never do.  For as much as I love Soleil the wonder ‘tard, I’m not sure I’d commemorate the silver anniversary of her eventual passing to the world.

But remind me of that when I entertain blogging about it, okay?

 

Leave a Reply

