Chocolate Molten Lava Cake

Chocolate molten goodness

The night before my birthday, N surprised me with a fabulous dinner at The Fremont Bistro with friends.  The food overall was great (including Maryland crab lasagna, an assortment of tapas, and my staple, steamed mussels), so it was a bit disappointing to have a fully cooked chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Since it was my birthday weekend, I figured I’d make my own version the next night.  Being a recipe slut, I have an entire binder dedicated to chocolate recipes, and after sifting through close to a dozen chocolate lava cake recipes, I used this one, whose provenance I believe comes from a spice ad.  While I could have pulled them out from the oven a few minutes sooner, they were still sufficiently chocolaty and gooey for me to post here.

Chocolate Lava Cakes (Serves 4)
4 ounces semi-sweet baking chocolate (I used bittersweet)
1 stick butter
1 Tbsp red wine (I used Pinotage, the recipe suggested Cabernet – and Port would also be lovely)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup powdered sugar
2 eggs
1 egg yolk
6 Tbsp flour
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger

Preheat oven to 425 F.  Butter four 6 oz ramekins and place on baking sheet.  Melt chocolate and butter (either on stovetop or by microwaving on 30 second intervals at HIGH until melted), whisking until chocolate is melted.  Whisk in wine, vanilla and sugar until blended.  Add eggs and yolk – whisk to blend.  Whisk in remaining ingredients.  Spoon evenly between ramekins.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until sides are firm but centers soft. Let stand 1 minute.  Loosen edges of ramekins with knife and invert onto serving plates.  Serve with heavy cream, creme fraiche, raspberry coulis…or simply naked.

One thought on “Chocolate Molten Lava Cake

Leave a Reply

