First Day of the Season

It was a strangely reluctant start to my ski season today.  With nothing but man-made snow at Lake Tahoe, I wasn’t jonesing to get out like I usually am.  That said, Heavenly had been using their cutting edge snow technology to blanket a few runs with very realistic snow, and N convinced me that even a few hours on groomed runs would be a good way to wake up my skiing muscle memory.

And it was good.  Much better than I had expected (both the snow quality and my ability to link turns), no doubt due to the early wind hold closure of one of the access lifts, thus leaving the two open chairlifts and three covered ski runs nearly empty.  Sadly, the wind hold caught up to everyone else, and we were forced to “evacuate” the mountain via the Gondola (the only way to access Heavenly at the moment), as the concern was that winds would pick up to the point that we’d be unable to get down.

Certainly an exciting way to start the ski season.

Leave a Reply

