Whither Spring?

The sun has finally come out at the lake, after a pretty wet April. And while I’m loving the vitamin D, the temperatures have shot up from the winter realm straight to summer, with no intermediate spring. The result is that snow has melted rapidly at lake level, but hasn’t done much for the snow at higher elevations.

I went to Kirkwood last Sunday for its closing day, and the snow was soft, verging on mushy, at 9 am. It’s almost heretical for me to admit, but I left after a little over an hour….and took the dog for a hike in Gardnerville. For those who know me and my self-admitted obsession with sliding on snow, this is unfathomable. Yet the conditions weren’t holding me. I’m a corn snow lover in the spring, which requires a hard freeze at night, something we haven’t seen much of the past week.

However, I am going to give it a shot this weekend. Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley are still open right now….as is Mammoth. So there’s still mucho resort skiing to be had, without counting the backcountry.

Leave a Reply

